

LEIRA EXECUTIVE BOARD

"Dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through sharing & exchange of professional experiences & technology" President: Sara Fitzgibbons • Past President: Jeanne Johnson Jacobs • 1st Vice President: Cathy Munoz • 2nd Vice President: Joshua Rees • Treasurer: Julie Ubert • Secretary: Lisa Edlin • Director: Janelle Knight • Director: Chris Leyda • Ex-Officio: Joan Smith - WASPC

LEIRA General Business Meeting Minutes Marcus Whitman Hotel Walla Walla, WA September 26, 2019

ATTENDEES President - Sara Fitzgibbons

1st Vice President - Cathy Munoz

2nd Vice President - Josh Rees

Treasurer - Julie Ubert

Past President - Jeanne Johnson Jacobs

Secretary - Lisa Edlin

Director - Chris Leyda

Director - Janelle Knight

Training Chair - Heather Ging

Call to Order 12:30 President Sara Fitzgibbons called the meeting to order.

- Called for additional Agenda items
 - o No additional agenda items added

• Review meeting minutes from October 17, 2018.

Motion requested by Danielle Bertschi. from Ellensburg PD and, 2nd by Cathy Munoz from Cheney PD to accept the General Business Meeting minutes from October 17, 2018. Motion approved and passed.

- Committee Sign-up sheet at registration for additional positions.
- Treasurer's report
 - o Budget vs. Actuals (see attached report)
 - Bank account has steadily grown.
 - Checking \$84,259.78
 - Savings \$60,327.55
 - Open Invoices \$2850



LEIRA EXECUTIVE BOARD

"Dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through sharing & exchange of professional experiences & technology"

President: Sara Fitzgibbons * Past President: Jeanne Johnson Jacobs * 1st Vice President: Cathy Munoz *2nd Vice President: Joshua Rees *Treasurer: Julie Ubert * Secretary: Lisa Edlin *Director: Janelle Knight *Director: Chris Leyda

Ex-Officio: Joan Smith - WASPC

Motion requested by Jeanne Johnson Jacobs and, 2nd by Janelle Knight to accept the Treasurers report. Motion approved and passed

• 2019 Executive Board Election Results – 2020 Board Positions – Jeanne Johnson Jacobs

- o President Sara Fitzgibbons, King County Sheriff's Office
- o 1st Vice President Cathy Munoz, Cheney Police Department
- o 2nd Vice President Chris Leyda, Snohomish County Sheriff's Office
- o Secretary Kirsty Jones, Clyde Hill Police Department
- o Treasurer Vacant
- o Past President, Jeanne Johnson Jacobs, Everett Police Department
- o Director Lisa Edlin, Oak Harbor Police Department
- o Director- Janelle Knight, Snoqualmie Police Department
- o Director Melinda Matlock, Island County Sheriff's Office
- Bylaw Changes Jeanne Johnson Jacobs
 - The bylaw changes were accepted by the membership via online ballots.

The Executive Board is recommending a change to the bylaws to help deal with vacancies on the Executive Board. The effect of the change is to renumber Article VI Section 4 to Article VI Section 3. Article VI Section 4 is then changed to allow for a 2nd board member to be appointed from the same agency but limit the voting rights to only the elected member.

Current Language:

Section 3

In the event of a vacancy in an Association office, caused by prolonged absence, disability, resignation or termination, the Executive Board shall appoint a qualified member to serve the balance of the term.

Section 4

Officers shall be elected by ballot at the fall meeting with installation of officers taking place prior to the end of the conference. To be eligible for election as an officer or as a director, a member must be in the Active or Life classification and no more than one member of an agency shall serve as an officer or director at any one time. To be eligible for candidate for President, a member must have served one (1) full year as an Executive Board Member within the last two (2) years.

Proposed Language:

Section 3

Officers shall be elected by ballot at the fall meeting with installation of officers taking place prior to the end of the conference. To be eligible for election as an officer or as a director, a member must be in the Active or Life



LEIRA EXECUTIVE BOARD

"Dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through sharing & exchange of professional experiences & technology" President: Sara Fitzgibbons • Past President: Jeanne Johnson Jacobs • 1st Vice President: Cathy Munoz • 2nd Vice President: Joshua Rees • Treasurer: Julie Ubert • Secretary: Lisa Edlin • Director: Janelle Knight • Director: Chris Leyda • Ex-Officio: Joan Smith - WASPC

classification and no more than one member of an agency shall serve as an officer or director at any one time. To be eligible for candidate for President, a member must have served one (1) full year as an Executive Board Member within the last two (2) years.

Section 4

In the event where the Executive Board is not able to identify a candidate in accordance with the restrictions listed in section 3, a 2nd member from a represented agency may be appointed by the President to serve in the positions of 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, Treasurer, or Secretary. In this circumstance the agency with 2 members serving will be allotted 1 vote which will be cast by the elected Board member. Executive Board members from the same agency will not be allowed to 2nd their own motion.

Motion requested by Becky Miner from WSP and, 2nd by Janelle Knight to destroy voting ballots. Motion approved and passed.

• Membership Committee Report – Director, Janelle Knight

o In 2019 we have 272 Active members and 24 Lifetime members

Motion requested by Mary Sellars and, 2nd by Cathy Munoz to adjourn meeting, adjourned at 1:15pm.